Help with Burgundy

Hello everyone,
I’m a new berserker – I’ve been drinking wine for about 6 years; the last three being serious. I started with Cali cab and grew into Bordeaux, which I really love. However in the last few months I’ve become enthralled with burgundies, both red and (to a lesser extent) white. Much thanks should be given to this board for promoting this wonderful region; I feel as though I’m “in the know” reading what you all have to offer and its prompted me to explore. At this point I’m familiar with the classification system.

Gratefully, I’m hoping to draw on your experience to help educate myself (and others) on the region and answer some questions that I’ve come across. First the questions:

1. What is the deal with the huge burgundy producers (i.e. Jadot) – are they worthwhile (keep in mind I’m used to Bordeaux)? I went to the Jadot website the other day and was overwhelmed in about 12 seconds; I can’t believe how many wines they make. I’ve had a few, some of which have been good (and very affordable), others have been spectacular (and pricier). I also see a lot of Latour, however I’ve not tried any that are of any significant quality (yet). I’ve experimented with other random well-known producers (e.g. Leflaive, R. Dubois & Fils) and had mixed results.

2. Are there any books or other materials you can recommend to familiarize oneself with the region? I’ve noticed Clive Coates’ book referenced in several posts that I’ve read but I was curious as to whether or not there were any others covering the estates, their history, and/ or their topography that would be helpful in discerning what’s what. I’ve found this approach very helpful in understanding Bordeaux.

Now for the open question: