unripe vs. overripe?

Help me to understand the characteristics in these two conditions unripe vs. ripe.

Over the weekend I opened a Daou 2008 Old Vine Lodi Zin and was immediately struck with a “tart/green” sensation. The flavor was pronounced right at the tip of the tongue and over powered any differentiation in fruit. The nose provided hints of dark fruit (black cherries) cassis, and spices. However, the juice was overwhelmingly tart… almost like the wine was too young. Is that tartness a sign of unripe grapes?

I’ve heard over ripe grapes tend to give the wine a “jammy” sweet fruit characteristics. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am by no means an expert, or even in the business, so others can give you much more elaborate answers. Ripeness of fruit is a large topic, and how ripe grapes need to be optimally depends on what type of wine is made, the winemakers preferences etc.

Regarting tasting charecteristics, i would say that you are pretty much spot on. Unripe fruit will taste vegetal, or greenish. overripe fruit will give the wine a jammy, flabby character. The sweetspot depends on your preferences, some like more ripeness in their wine than others.

In general I tend to prefer wines with a less defined acidic backbone, so naturally I wouldn’t gravitate towards anything resembling a tart, sour, puckery or stringent profile.

Thanks for your response.

Dave,
Yes roughly the characteristics are the ones you told: too high acidity for unripe, and too jammy for the overripe ones.
But these factors are not the only results of ripeness level: for instance, the acidity can be influenced by the climate (warm = less acidity), the altitude (elevation = more acidity), type of soil, grape variety, type of vineyard management, etc.
So very acidic wine doesn’t always mean unripe: it could be a ripe Riesling, coming from northern region.