Please settle this disagreement

My friend and I have a disagreement, but I am inclined to follow his lead usually when it comes to wine as I am a novice relative to him. He told me to never ever put wine in a refrigerator for more then one day as it will “kill” the wine. Is this true?

No.

If you put your friend in the refrigerator for one day that might kill him.

putting wine in the fridge

1. makes it cold
  2. slows down the natural biological process that can lead to spoilage.

But no, it doesn’t magically kill any wine. Just be sure to isolate it from fridge smells with some sort of seal. Then, take it out and let it warm up before serving.

No. I have heard that long-term storage in a refrigerator of a bottle can cause problems due to temperature fluctuations and vibrations.

Personal experience says it’s fine.

You mean, like, a cork?

Maybe he is referring to a cold serving temp subduing the initial flavors especially in red wine. A slow warm-up will be back the nuances.

That just might work.

He still seems to disagree, but I think I have made up my mind. Thank you all.

It is easy to agree to disagree.
Especially when you are right and he is wrong…

So is the only reason that people don’t just put their wines in refrigerators long term that they will not age properly?

In our house there are always three or four bottles of white wine in the refrigerator that are available to be opened up.

Heck, I’m such a bohemian, I’ve forgotten about wine that I put in the freezer for a “quick chill.” It doesn’t freeze solid, but it does create a slush. Set it on the counter for a few minutes, and it’s fine. I can’t say that I recommend it, though.

Many people will store unfinished bottles of red wine in the refrigerator. The theory is that the cold retards the oxidation process that starts the instant the bottle is opened. I guess that makes sense.