Pros/Cons of wine tasting classes

I’m fairly new to wine - and every day I learn something that makes me feel like I’ve only just scratched the surface. I started growing with weekend trips to Virginia wineries, then I feel like I really expanded my horizons with a summer weekend tasting adventure in the Willamette and a full week fall vacation to Sonoma.

I’ve been trying to build my knowledge through reading (my loverly Christmas gift being the World Atlas of Wine and recently buying the Wine Bible) as well as through classes. I did a fun, one-class “wine tasting” which went through the different primary grapes, then did a more robust 3-class series which focused on mostly on understanding the differences between new-vs old world styles of grapes/common blends. I greatly enjoyed the classes - as much from a kind of intellectual point of view (e.g. understanding why California Pinots taste different than Burgundy) as the actual process of trying to detect flavors and elements of winemaker style.

I know that to really build an understanding of my own personal likes/dislikes/typical styles and flavors, etc I have to drink, drink, drink. I find myself really enjoying the classroom environment - and the place that I’ve been taking classes is now offering a 4-class series aimed at improving wine tasting skills (they also offer WSET and Master of French and Italian wine and sommelier training classes). Right now though I’m wondering whether there’s a lot of benefit of being in a classroom for more - or whether that money is better spent at the wine store!