Bordeaux Newbie

I am a newbie to old world wines. I’ve been drinking a lot of Cali cab’s for the past couple years. My preferences have changed since I first started drinking wines. I use to exclusively drink Pinot Noir’s from Oregon. A friend of ours ordered a Cali Bordeaux blend a few weeks ago at dinner (09 Dominus), and we really enjoyed it. My wife and I have been watching some documentaries on Netflix (A Year in Burgundy and Red Obsession) and this has sparked some additional interest in giving a try at some French wines. There is just so much out there and I have no clue where to start. Can you guys recommend some Bordeaux’s that are easily to find and priced under $40? Thanks in advance for the recommendation!

Wow, huge question, but overall I’d suggest sticking with the really good vintages, in lesser houses/regions, like Pessac-Leognan or Fronsac. More well known regions have plenty of lesser houses that produce great wine in great vintages, too. I’ve heard Château Capbern-Gasqueton recommended quite a bit, and I purchased some 2010 on those recommendations, but haven’t tried it yet. Château La Vieille Cure is always a good value, and Larcis Ducasse used to be a great value, but no longer…

A couple favs that may be under $40 in some/most vintages:
Chateau Poujeaux
Sociando-Mallet

Sociando-Mallet is a good call if you can get a good vintage under $40

Brian/Todd thanks for the recommendations. I’m guessing 09,10,11 and 12’s are good years?

For sure the first three, not sure about 12, but don’t forget to look at backfilling - some good prices on 2000’s and 2005’s right now, and those are great years of relatively recent vintage

I have not had enough 10s, 11s, or 12s to form an opinion. 2009 is a ripe year and many of the wines are closer to new world than would normally be expected. They are good wines for sure but maybe not as much a contrast to California than other vintages.