(More) Advice for a Rookie Salesman?

Hey All,
I’m new to WineBeserkers and certainly new (less than a week as a sales rep here in New York) to the wine business. I just pulled a boatload of great advice from Arthurk’s thread from 2009 but it would be great to get some advice on the issue of first introductions.

I’ve been warming myself up at the generic Wine & Spirits stores that all carry the exact same selection of mass market wines (Yellowtail, Sutter home etc) and liqours. I usually (the past two days) go in (no samples bag, brochures or anything) and say hello to whoever is working the counter and then take about five minutes to browse their selection before asking if the manager/owner/wine buyer is around and then figuring out if it’s possible to make an appointment to taste with them. So far everybody has been very friendly and helpful and I’ve gotten all the information I would want for a first introduction.

But today I tried to do the same thing at what appeared to be the exact same style of store and the owner was very upset. Before I could even finish my second sentence he told me to get out of his store - that he didn’t care about my company. I take it that he was offended that I didn’t make it clear right away that I was a sales rep when another employee asked me if I needed help finding anything.

Looking back I can see how that could come off as disrespectful and I do feel pretty awful for offending him but his response was SO different from that of all the other clerks/store owners.

So basically my questions are -

1. Has my tactic been a big no-no or does this store owner happen to have a quirky attitude about Rep behavior?
  2. Should I make it apparent as soon as I walk in the store that I’m a rep and introduce myself right away before browsing?
  3. What do you guys think the best way for a new rep to introduce himself is?