A forum for and about wine retailing. Consumer questions, retailer rants, etc. All are welcome to post
-

Nick Vaughan
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: May 17th 2011, 4:22pm
-
Post #1 by Nick Vaughan » May 17th 2011, 9:45pm
Hi everyone, I'm seeking anyone with knowledge of, or interaction with, a merchant in Las Vegas called Dionysus Imports. Website here. We have heard that their listed address is a brass-plate business incorporation service and since they only deal in futures this raises something of a red flag. It appears they are also lacking in a Nevada wine importation license. I've had contact with the owner in the past, but have yet to receive a reply to any recent questions posed. If anyone in the community can vouch for this merchant please do so. Obviously any other comments are appreciated as well. Feel free to PM me if you prefer. Thanks, -Long time listener, first time caller: Wine-Searcher.
-

Chuck Miller
- Donor

-
- Posts: 864
- Joined: June 1st 2009, 7:58am
- Location: Seattle, WA
-
Post #2 by Chuck Miller » May 17th 2011, 10:27pm
I don't have any information for you, sorry. But after looking at their web site and Google, I do have some advice -- be very cautious. For a company whose web site says copyright 1998-2011, nothing of substance can be found on Google, as you have probably found on your own. They talk about their extensive experience, but don't identify a single individual, or list any of their experience. And they repeat themselves about why 'en primeur', even in totally inappropriate areas. For example, when you click on 'about us', they talk about 'why en primeur', not about who they are.
Given the high profile failures of much better known retailers, taking a flyer on a company that doesn't seem very forthcoming, let alone even well known, seems inherently risky. Hopefully someone else can chime in with actual experience with them.
Chuck Miller Seattle Wine Storage
-

Peter Tryba
-
- Posts: 1939
- Joined: March 25th 2009, 6:55pm
- Location: Newton, MA
-
Post #4 by Peter Tryba » May 18th 2011, 3:37pm
Any relation to US Wine Association or Corporate Wines?
ITB
-

Joe Hauck
- Donor

-
- Posts: 3081
- Joined: January 27th 2009, 1:50pm
- Location: Las Vegas
Post #5 by Joe Hauck » May 18th 2011, 4:50pm
Very strange as I have lived in Las Vegas for 30 years and have never heard of them. I am familiar with the address listed and will check it out in the next couple of days. That being said Vegas is a mecca for scams.
One of the few good things about modern times " if you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us." Kurt Vonnegut
-

Chuck Miller
- Donor

-
- Posts: 864
- Joined: June 1st 2009, 7:58am
- Location: Seattle, WA
-
Post #6 by Chuck Miller » May 18th 2011, 5:04pm
The whois information doesn't look particularly promising or enlightening either: Registrant: Perfect Privacy LLC 303 Peachtree Center Ave Atlanta, GA 30303 US Phone: +1.4042608491 Email: Registrar Name....: Register.com Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com Registrar Homepage: www.register.comDomain Name: ingrapeswetrust.com Created on..............: 2010-07-17 Expires on..............: 2011-07-17 Administrative Contact: Perfect Privacy LLC 303 Peachtree Center Ave Atlanta, GA 30303 US Phone: +1.4042608491 Email: Technical Contact: Web.com Drone Team 12808 Gran Bay Parkway West Jacksonville, FL 32258 US Phone: +1.8009324678 Email: DNS Servers: b.ns.interland.net a.ns.interland.net
Chuck Miller Seattle Wine Storage
-

Rob MacKay
- Donor

-
- Posts: 3717
- Joined: January 28th 2009, 12:02pm
- Location: Santa Cruz Mtns
-
Post #7 by Rob MacKay » May 18th 2011, 5:12pm
The registrant is a proxy used for private domain registration services through Register.com. However, that in and of itself raises a red flag for me. Usually you use private registration if you don't want anyone to know the actual owner contact details for the domain. I would think that a legitimate business would want that information publicly available.
"For the human makers of things, the incompletenesses and inconsistencies of our ideas become clear only during implementation."
-

Chuck Miller
- Donor

-
- Posts: 864
- Joined: June 1st 2009, 7:58am
- Location: Seattle, WA
-
Post #8 by Chuck Miller » May 18th 2011, 5:17pm
Exactly.
Chuck Miller Seattle Wine Storage
-
JP Taboada
-
- Posts: 103
- Joined: November 16th 2009, 5:38pm
- Location: Dallas, Texas
-
Post #9 by JP Taboada » May 18th 2011, 8:31pm
Lol. The website provoked an instant gasp for air, mid sip none-the-less, a snort, followed by hearty laugh. A professional service of such long history and caliber cannot be serious with their run of the mill cookie cutter website that was most likely a prepackaged, comes with your subscription, "free for one full year"... Contact us provides no names of actual people to talk to and there isn't much to what you can actually buy through them, other than being a promotional bit on simply buying "en primeur". Completely laughable.
-

Scott VZ
-
- Posts: 196
- Joined: May 8th 2010, 10:20pm
- Location: Boston, MA
Post #10 by Scott VZ » May 23rd 2011, 11:48pm
Funny how one of the ways search engines deduce relevancy is by the number and frequency of terms that match between your search and the page...
..and a search for "Las Vegas, En Primeur" comes up with this as #4... after WB of course.
Scott Van Zile Boston, MA
-
Bob Vizsla
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: June 18th 2011, 7:53am
Post #11 by Bob Vizsla » July 7th 2011, 9:40am
its Vegas, pass the rip-off. Remember, you pay for futures, they fold, and your stuck, with no recourse. It only cost $125.00 to incorporate in Nevada, and you dont know who is in charge, or will you ever know. Pass. Pass
Return to Wine Pimps
|
|