TN: 2014 Yvon Métras Fleurie L'Ultime - Huh, $75 bucks for a stinkin' Beaujolais!?

Yea, you might think we’re nuts. Beaujolais is Coca-Cola wine, right? Hah. Not so fast, sonny, though on reflection, $75 is still a bit nutty.

Metras is a singular wine. I think stylistically it sorta transcends Beaujolais. It is Beaujolais, but then it’s different. I’m relatively new to this producer, so pardon me if I am profoundly wrong here, but there is a lightness of body, weighted by fragrance and ripeness of fruit unlike any other Beaujolais producer, and cut with a level of vicious acid, as to be entirely distinct. And then there is the color, sometimes a neon translucent ruby/strawberry, sometimes a brooding cloudy wine, suggesting possible spoilage or poor winemaking practices, other times an orange quality to it. I’ve heard of problems with consistency, bad lots, etc., but I have yet to experience anything other than an excellent wine.

Singular.

Think Levet. Think Rougeard. Think Sociando Mallet. Think d’Yquem.

I cannot recall who exactly introduced me to this wine, I think it was Jeb Singleton. It’s one of the three wines that Wine Berserker has brought to my attention, and that within a very short window of time, has come to dominate my “cellar” or my section devoted to that type of wine. Levet and Gonon are the other two.

The Metras basic Beaujolais is generally the play. Not cheap, but at $30-$40 it rivals most other competitors, if not in quality, then without a doubt in distinctiveness. The Fleurie is a step above, but at $50, it is admittedly pushing boundaries. I found the 2015 Fleurie VV worth every penny. Metras seems to do very well in these riper vintages.