Why is Oregon chardonnay so expensive?

I’m sure this question can be best answered by Jim, Marcus, and Todd, but I’d love to hear any other thoughts, and I look forward to other random insults and other off-topic witticisms.

I thought reds were generally more expensive because of the new barrels, the time required to store it prior to release, etc. etc. etc. However, as I’m just beginning to learn about Oregon whites, I’m finding myself experiencing a little sticker shock. Take the outfit mentioned by Jim recently, Domaine Divio - I checked out their website last night and discovered their chardonnay is their second most expensive offering, more expensive than even a Dundee Pinot. What gives? Is this simply a supply & demand issue? Is Oregon chardonnay that good?

As an aside, or to start the drift already, I recently learned about the Matello Whistling Ridge White (mercifully priced ~$20 or so). A co-fermented Riesling, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Noir, and Gewurztraminer sounds absolutely delicious!

In general, I don’t think it is helpful to try to determine wine prices by figuring out costs. Sure, eventually, the ability to charge more for a wine finds its way into land costs, but really wines are prices by what you will pay to get them (unless the winery is generous and has owned the land for a long time).

Chard grape prices have soared. If you have an estate vineyard, not so much of an issue. But either way you can’t crop too high, like the Pinot, then likely same barrel regime as the Pinot, maybe filtering where you might not filter the Reds so added cost. My point - it’s not like making the chard is so much cheaper. The market hasn’t been willing to go so high with it but that’s changing. Most production is still under $30, but honestly I’m happy to see people striving for greater things with chard, even if top end bottlings are going for more money. The wines in general are really worth while.

Disclosure - I make OR Chard but it’s only $23.