Decanting advice on René Engel Clos Vougeot 1990?

Hi all,

I just bought a bottle of René Engel CV 1990 and I’m seeking some advice on decanting. Actually, I don’t think I’ll use a decanter as I’m concerned it will kill the wine, but wondered if it should be popped & poured or left open for a few hours before drinking.
I have little experience with older Bourgogne but I’ve seen wines collapse within 1 hour or on the contrary rise and shine after 2 hours.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

Alain

Alain, FWIW, my notes on this wine from last March…from my cellar program: Please report back.

3/15: 1st night with mb spags; 2nd night with grilled porgies. This wine is a wow wine. First night some bright acidity; 2nd night a lovely maturing wine with a finish of sweet red fruit. Long finish. lovely with food. Lush even. Deep regal red fruit. Will peak around 30 I’d guess. As good as CV gets; a complete wine with good acidity to balance the mix.

I must have also posted this on WB:

from WB: For the second time in a month I had this happen with an older wine. Opened a 1990 Engel Clos Vougeot Monday night. It was mellowing seemed on the cusp of maturity. Left in decanter for 6-7 hours after cleaning of sediment. It got better and better and though there was still relatively prominent acidity (yes…even in 1990) and vibrant fruit, it was maturing. Put the rest back in bottle; no refrigeration (I almost never do that), last night it was in my view a wine that was in perfect harmony: the acidity and the fruit were “one” and no tannins to speak of. Though I would have rather aged the bottle for 5 more years, and will for the others, this, I think, is an excellent preview of what its potential is/what is to come. I think aeration shows that…or that it has none.