Domaine Vincent Paris 13 Cornas 'Granit 30' (Granit Blanc note added)

This is a nice, affordable introduction to Cornas and the North Rhone that doesn’t require breaking the bank or a decade in the cellar to enjoy. The wine has the richer, slightly sweet red rustic fruit I think of when I think of Cornas, along with the holiday spice notes that kick over to subtle notes of black olive and dried herbs. Has Syrah intensity in the middle without high alcohol density.

Back in the day, this would have been a thoroughly respectable 88 or 89 (OMG - did I just score a wine?!), but in an era of grade inflation on the one hand and reverence for full throttle power on the other, I have no idea what this would rate (Oh, no, not quite). All I know is that I enjoyed it with baked chicken thighs crusted with dried herbs.

Did I mention this has nice acidity and balance?

Thanks Jim. I’m new to the producer but enjoyed an 11 Geynale last week. Great typicity and depth of flavor with no makeup. I thought it was a real winner at $60 paid. Rob Panzer, board member, imports and retails these wines BTW.

Thanks for the note, Jim!

I’m going to crack an '11 'Granit 60" tomorrow (I know young–but I have a few) after a '99 Texier Cote Rotie (I know potentially closed and acidic, but I drank the other I had and did not find that problem). I let you know how the V. P. turns out.

Josh

Glad to see some love for these Granit 30s on the board. Great value and super with some mid-term age on them.

Please do. I’ve been loving the ‘30’ and the St. Joseph and I plan on tasting the white tonight with some people who are helping me out today (I’m taking very short breaks from slanging wine to sit at the computer and look serious while I’m typing posts like these).

I’ve enjoyed all the Cornas, but never tried the white. Let us know how it is!

Michael

I was just sitting down to type a quick note!